Best CRM for home service business (2026)
Choose a home-service CRM by exit risk: compare prices, trials, seat rules, and documented portability before committing.
Some links in this article are affiliate links. If you buy through one, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.
The lock-in signal is the quote you cannot price
The strongest documented lock-in warning in this category is not a proprietary export format or a cancellation clause. It is pricing opacity. The supplied comparison says five of ten listed products hide their price, including ServiceTitan, and describes that opacity as a cost when a startup is trying to budget. It also says the advertised price and the working price can differ because features may be gated or sold as add-ons. My position follows from that evidence: choose the product with the clearest entry terms unless a vendor gives you equally clear exit terms in writing.
| Tool | Published starting price | Documented constraint | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nutshell | $13 per user, per month | No seat minimums or maximums | Individuals or small teams getting started |
| QuoteIQ | $29.99/month for one user | No per-user fees; Max at $699 adds unlimited users | Startups across 50+ trades |
| Jobber | $49/mo (Core, 1 user) | Entry plan lists 1 user | Growing teams, 5–15 users |
| Housecall Pro | $59/mo annual, $79 monthly (Basic, 1 user) | Entry plan lists 1 user | Residential service businesses |
| Kickserv | $60/mo (Start, 5 users) | Entry package lists 5 users | Budget-conscious micro-teams |
| ServiceTitan | Not published — quote required | Positioned for 20+ technician enterprise operations | Enterprise operations |
Nutshell and QuoteIQ have the clearest way in
The sources do not document an import speed, an import wizard, or a free permanent tier for any product. The two clearest low-friction onboarding paths are instead Nutshell’s trial and QuoteIQ’s trial, and they are materially different from a claim that either tool is easy to migrate into.
Nutshell offers a 14-day trial with no credit card required, free live support on every plan, and no seat minimums or maximums. Its published monthly entry point is $13 per user, per month for individuals or small teams getting started. The next listed levels are $25, $42, $59, and $79 per user, per month, with annual billing shown as saving 15%. Those details make the initial commitment unusually legible: a small operator can start without first negotiating a quote or choosing a fixed seat block.
QuoteIQ’s source offers a 14-day free trial of whichever plan the customer chooses. Its entry price is $29.99/month for one user with no per-user fees, and the entry plan includes AI Estimator, four estimate types, invoicing, scheduling, and e-signatures. That is a stronger documented starting feature bundle for a startup than Nutshell’s source excerpt provides, but the source still does not say how existing customer records are imported or how they can later be extracted.
This distinction matters. A trial demonstrates how quickly a buyer can begin using a product; it does not demonstrate how quickly the buyer can leave. On the evidence supplied, Nutshell wins the onboarding-risk test because it combines a lower published monthly entry price with no seat minimums or maximums. QuoteIQ is the more startup-specific alternative when estimating, invoicing, scheduling, and e-signatures are the reason to buy, but its published entry terms do not answer the migration question.
The export evidence is missing where a switcher needs it
For a buyer who expects to switch within two years, the direct answer is uncomfortable: none of the supplied excerpts documents a clean customer-data export, an export format, API access, or an export restriction for Nutshell, QuoteIQ, Jobber, Housecall Pro, Kickserv, or ServiceTitan. Because those capabilities are not stated in the sources, it would be unjustified to label one of these products portable or another one locked to a proprietary format.
Nutshell does document connectivity, but connectivity is not the same thing as a verified exit file. Its home-service page says the product connects accounting and invoicing systems, email and calendars, and phone systems, and it lists 5,000+ apps via Zapier. It also says accounting software can sync invoices and payments, calendars can use two-way sync, and phone systems can log calls automatically. Those are useful ways to reduce duplicate entry while using Nutshell; they are not a stated promise that the complete customer profile, service history, property details, quotes, invoices, calls, texts, and notes can be exported in a usable form.
The same caution applies to QuoteIQ. Its source carefully identifies where capabilities unlock: MapMeasure Pro satellite measurement starts on Beginner at $74.99; ClientHub, Client Portal, and job costing are on Pro at $149.99; InstaQuote, InstaSchedule, route optimization, and EmployeeHub are on Elite at $299; and Max at $699 adds unlimited users. That level of plan detail helps a buyer understand adoption cost, but the excerpt gives no corresponding export or API detail. A buyer should not treat a detailed feature matrix as evidence of a detailed exit path.
ServiceTitan presents the largest information gap for this decision. Its source describes an all-in-one system connecting customer management, scheduling, marketing, and more, but the supplied text does not state an export format or API policy. The absence of a documented restriction is not proof of a restriction; it is simply a reason not to make a long commitment based on assumptions.
Billing terms make Nutshell the safest commitment
The sources document billing choices more clearly for some products than they do contract terms. Nutshell shows monthly pricing and annual billing with a 15% saving, while also explicitly stating no seat minimums or maximums. The page does not state an annual contract obligation, cancellation fee, downgrade penalty, or data-export condition. That combination makes Nutshell the safest on the evidence available, not because its exit terms are proven, but because its entry billing is flexible and visible.
QuoteIQ also avoids a per-user fee, which is meaningful for a startup that expects to add people. However, its source does not say whether the published plan prices have cancellation or downgrade penalties, and it does not state whether customer data can be exported. Kickserv’s published Start price is $60/mo for five users, so the buyer receives a defined five-user package rather than a single-user starting point. That may be sensible for a micro-team, but the excerpt does not call the five users a contractual minimum.
Jobber is listed at $49/mo for Core with 1 user. Housecall Pro is listed at $59/mo annual or $79 monthly for Basic with 1 user. The annual and monthly labels expose a billing difference for Housecall Pro, but the source does not state the contract length, cancellation terms, or any penalty for downgrading. Those omissions prevent a responsible two-year cost calculation.
The practical rule is therefore narrow: prefer monthly billing when it is published, avoid treating annual savings as proof of a favorable contract, and do not infer portability from integrations. On the supplied evidence, Nutshell is the only compared option that explicitly removes both seat minimums and maximums while publishing a low monthly entry price and a trial with no credit card required.
The two-year switch test favors visible entry cost, not a guessed exit bill
A reader planning to change systems within two years should resist the temptation to calculate a migration bill from imagined labor. The sources provide no export format, API price, contract penalty, or downgrade fee, so no product can honestly be declared the cheapest to abandon. The decision has to separate what is known from what remains a procurement question.
What is known favors Nutshell for a small operation: $13 per user, per month at the published entry level, a 14-day trial without a credit card, free live support on every plan, and no seat minimums or maximums. What is also known is that Nutshell stores a broad set of home-service records, including service history, property details, past quotes, phone calls, emails, texts, and notes. That breadth improves the value of the system, but it also makes a written data-exit answer more important before a buyer centralizes those records there.
QuoteIQ is the stronger alternative when the buyer values a contractor-startup workflow at the outset. Its $29.99/month one-user starting point has no per-user fees and includes estimating, invoicing, scheduling, and e-signatures. Yet there is no sourced evidence that it is cheaper to abandon, and no sourced evidence that any of its plan-gated tools can be exported with the underlying customer records.
The evidence-based answer to which tool costs least to both adopt and abandon is therefore none of them. Nutshell has the least expensive and least restrictive documented entry for a small team, but its exit capability is undocumented in the supplied material. That is still the best available default, provided the buyer makes export and contract language a condition of purchase rather than assuming it exists.
Pick Nutshell, and do not sign ServiceTitan long-term without written exit terms
My pick is Nutshell. It is the most defensible choice for a home-service business that wants a real CRM without accepting a published seat block or a sales-only starting price. The product page is specifically aimed at home services and documents customer profiles, service history, property notes, visual pipelines, web forms, an AI chatbot, calling and SMS, marketing, reporting, and the 5,000+ apps via Zapier. More importantly for this comparison, it pairs those capabilities with $13 per user, per month, a 14-day no-card trial, free live support on every plan, and no seat minimums or maximums.
The product I would not sign to a long contract is ServiceTitan unless its sales process supplies written answers about price, contract duration, cancellation, downgrade treatment, and data portability. That is not a claim that ServiceTitan imposes a bad clause; the supplied sources do not establish one. It is a risk judgment: ServiceTitan is listed as not published and quote required, and the comparison positions it for 20+ technician enterprise operations while saying it is priced and scoped for an enterprise endpoint rather than a startup. Quote-only pricing plus an undocumented exit path is the weakest combination for a buyer explicitly worried about leaving.
If QuoteIQ’s contractor-specific entry features matter more than the lowest published monthly price, its 14-day trial and no per-user fees make it a credible second choice. But the recommendation remains Nutshell because it is the only option here with a clearly stated no-seat-limit policy. Before either purchase, ask for the export and contract answers in writing; the supplied evidence does not let any competitor claim a clean escape route yet.